THE MISSISSIPPI RIVER CITIES & TOWNS INITIATIVE

Capitol Meeting Agenda March 24-26, 2014, Washington, DC

Unless otherwise noted, all sessions and events are open to all mayors and other officially invited attendees.

Official functions and meeting services are mobile throughout this meeting.

March 24

Dinner with U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Sponsored by McVean Trading & Harahan Bridge Project

(Mayors may gather in the hotel lobby at 6:20pm to walk one block to dinner venue. Registration materials will be available at the dinner.)

6:30pm – 8:00pm, National Association of Realtors Building, 500 New Jersey Avenue, NW Mayors will be joined by leadership from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers for a sit-down dinner to discuss current challenges facing the Mississippi River as well as possible solutions.

Presiding: George Flaggs, Mayor of Vicksburg, MS

AC Wharton, Mayor of Memphis, TN Roy Buol, Mayor of Dubuque, IA

Presentation: Greg Maxted, Director, Harahan Bridge Project

Discussion: Brigadier General Duke DeLuca

Commander, Mississippi Valley Division

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

HON. JO-ELLEN DARCY

Assistant Secretary of the Army for Civil Works

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

March 25

Breakfast with the 1 Mississippi River Network Policy Committee

(Mayors will meet in the Phoenix Park Lobby at 7:45am and walk 2 blocks to breakfast venue.) 8:00am – 9:00am, Thornton Room, 11th Floor, Hyatt Regency Washington, DC on Capitol Hill

Presiding: Tom Thompson, Mayor of Grafton, IL

Welcome: Eileen Fretz, MRN Policy Committee Chair

Claudia Emken, MRN Policy Manager

House and Senate Meetings (Mayors and city staff only)

10:00am - 12:00pm, House & Senate Offices, Capitol Hill

Prep-Session (9:30am, Yosemite Room, 2nd Floor)

Leading: Colin Wellenkamp, MRCTI

Hon. Lamar Alexander (10:45am, Dirksen 455)

Hon. Betty McCollum (10:45am, 1714 LHOB)

Prep-Session (9:30am, Yosemite Room, 2nd Floor)

Leading: Samuel Breene, NEMW Coalition

Appropriations Committee Appropriations Committee

United States Senate (TN)

U.S. House of Representatives (MN)

Presiding: AC Wharton, Mayor of Memphis, TN Presiding: David Kleis, Mayor of St. Cloud, MN

HON. CLAIRE McCaskill (11:30am Hart 506)
Homeland Security & Gov. Affairs Committee
Hon. Bennie Thompson (11:00am, 2466 RHOB)
Ranking Member, Homeland Security Committee

United States Senate (MO)

U.S. House of Representatives (MS)

Presiding: Jo Anne Smiley, Mayor of Clarksville, MO Presiding: Larry Brown, Mayor of Natchez, MS

Capitol Hill Lunch (Mayors and city staff only)

12:15pm - 1:30pm, Capitol Room S-115

Presiding: Hyram Copeland, Mayor of Vidalia, LA; Dickie Kennemore, Mayor of Osceola, AR

Remarks: Hon. Mary Landrieu

United States Senate (LA)

Hon. RICK CRAWFORD

Mississippi River Caucus Co-Chair U.S. House of Representatives (AR)

White House Meeting (Mayors and city staff only)

(Mayors may board the Bus immediately following the Capitol Hill Lunch to be taken to the White House.) 2:30pm – 4:00pm, White House, Executive Office Building, 17th Street Entrance

Presiding: AC Wharton, Mayor of Memphis

Roy Buol, Mayor of Dubuque, IA Francis Slay, Mayor of St. Louis, MO

Welcome: White House Office of Intergovernmental Affairs

Discussion: Task Force on Climate Preparedness and Resilience

Jay Jensen, Associate Director for Land and Water Ecosystems, CEQ

White House Rural Council

Doug McKalip, Senior Policy Advisor for Rural Affairs, White House

President's Export Council (invited)

Michael Masserman, Exec. Dir. of Export Policy, Promotion, & Strategy, DOC

Break (Return to Hotel)

4:30pm - 5:30pm, Phoenix Park Hotel, 520 North Capitol Street, NW

Congressional Reception and Dinner, Sponsored by the Waterways Council

(Buses begin loading at 5:30pm in front of the Phoenix Park Hotel.)

6:00pm – 6:30pm, Welcome Reception, 1 Constitution Avenue, NE, Minuteman Ballroom

Join Memphis Mayor AC Wharton, Dubuque Mayor Roy Buol, and members of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from along the Mississippi River for a celebration marking the first anniversary of the Initiative and the Caucus working together for the waterway.

Welcome: AC Wharton, Mayor of Memphis, TN

Greetings: Paul Rhode, Vice President, Waterways Council

Dan Mecklenborg, Senior Vice President, Ingram Barge Company

Address: Jo Anne Smiley, Mayor of Clarksville, MO

Francis Slay, Mayor of St. Louis, MO

Hon. Roy Blunt

Mississippi River Caucus Co-Chair

United States Senate (MO)

Introduction: Mark Huber, Mayor of Prescott, WI

Tim Kabat, Mayor of La Crosse, WI

Update: Hon. Ron Kind

Mississippi River Caucus Co-Chair U.S. House of Representatives (WI)

Annual Mtg: Hyram Copeland, Mayor of Vidalia, LA

6:30pm – 8:00pm, Dinner, 1 Constitution Avenue, NE, Minuteman Ballroom

Presiding: Roy Buol, Mayor of Dubuque, IA

Update: Hon. Tom Harkin (invited)

Mississippi River Caucus Co-Chair

United States Senate (IA)

Recognition: Tom Thompson, Mayor of Grafton, IL

HON. WILLIAM ENYART

U.S. House of Representatives (IL)

Hon. Rodney Davis

U.S. House of Representatives (IL)

Recognition: AC Wharton, Mayor of Memphis, TN

Hon. Steve Cohen

U.S. House of Representatives (TN)

Recognition: John Cox, Mayor of Greenville, MS

HON. ROGER WICKER

United States Senate (MS)

March 26

Breakfast

8:00am - 9:00am, Powers Court Room, Phoenix Park Hotel

Presiding: Roy Buol, Mayor of Dubuque, IA

Presentation: Tom Thompson, Mayor of Grafton, IL

Gray Magee, CEO, American Heartland Fish Products, LLC

MRCTI Inter-Agency Roundtable

9:30am – 11:00am, EPA Headquarters Building North, 12th Street Federal Triangle Entrance, Green Room Mayors will hold an inter-agency meeting involving EPA, USDA, DOT, and FEMA to discuss issues facing the Mississippi River in regards to disaster preparedness, trade, and conservation.

Presiding: Dave Kleis, Mayor of St. Cloud, MN;

Welcome: Ellen Gilinsky, Senior Policy Advisor for Office of Water, U.S. EPA

Discussion: Nutrient Trading on the Mississippi River, Mark Vulich, Mayor of Clinton, IA

U.S. EPA Gulf Hypoxia Task Force

National Drought Council, Roy Buol, Mayor of Dubuque, IA

Ann Mills, Deputy Under Secretary for Natural Resources and Env., USDA

Pre-Disaster Mitigation Grants, Hyram Copeland, Mayor of Vidalia, LA

Cecelia Rosenberg, Chief, Grants Policy Branch, Insurance & Mitigation Admin. James Walke, P.E., Director, Risk Reduction Division, Insurance & Mitigation Admin.

Ryan Janda, Program Lead, Hazard Mitigation Assistance Program, FEMA

Container Shipping on the Mississippi River, Larry Brown, Mayor of Natchez, MS

Franklin Parker, Chief Counsel, Maritime Administration, DOT

Mayors' Press Availability

11:30am – 12:00pm, 20 F Street, NW, Ground Floor Board Room

Moderating: AC Wharton, Mayor of Memphis, TN

Roy Buol, Mayor of Dubuque, IA

12:00pm - Adjourn

Hotel Information

Rooms are available at a reduced rate within the historic Phoenix Park Hotel (pictured below), 520 North Capitol Street, NW, Washington, DC 20001. Reservations can be made by calling 202-638-6900, ask for the block under the *Mississippi River Cities & Towns Initiative*.





520 North Capitol Street, NW Washington, DC 20001 p 202.638.6900 f 202.638.4025